The Women Winners of the Nobel Prize 2020


The Nobel Committee has announced the recipients of this year’s Nobel Prize, and four of them are women.

Between 1901-2020, 57 women had been awarded the Nobel Prize. They can be found in all categories but it is only this year, in the field of Chemistry, that two women won without a joint partnership with a man.

This duo of brilliant women consists of Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer Doudna. Dr. Charpentier is a French Researcher of the Max Planck Unit for the Science of Pathogens in Berlin while Dr. Doudna is a biochemist at the University of California, Berkeley working as a Howard Hughes Investigator. They created a groundbreaking technology called CRISPR-Cas9, a “genetic scissor” that allows scientists to make specific changes to genes.

According to the Nobel Committee who made the announcement, “This technology has had a revolutionary impact on the life sciences, is contributing to new cancer therapies and may make the dream of curing inherited diseases come true.”

Another sole winner of a Nobel Prize is the American poet Louise Glück in the Literature category and sharing a Nobel Prize in Physics is Andrea Ghez, the fourth woman to have won a Nobel in Physics, for their discovery of a black hole in the Milky Way’s galactic centre.

This development in the chosen 2020 Nobel Laureates signifies the strength of women in science. It is a progress that opens more avenues for women to defy gender stereotypes and triumph in the field.

Here is the list of this year’s 2020 Nobel Prize Laureates.

Physiology or Medicine.

The Nobel Prize is shared by three Laureates; Harvey J. Alter, Michael Houghton, and Charles M. Rice “for the discovery of Hepatitis C virus.”


Image source: TedTalk

The Nobel Prize is divided into two outstanding works. One half is awarded to Roger Penrose “for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity”. The other half is jointly awarded to Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez “for the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”


Image source: Aljazeera

Emmanuelle Charpentier and Jennifer A. Doudna “for the development of a method for genome editing.”


Image source: The Guardian

American poet Louise Glück “for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal.”

Peace Prize.

World Food Programme (WFP), the world’s largest humanitarian organization addressing hunger and promoting food security.

Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.

American economists Paul R. Milgrom and Robert B. Wilson “for improvements to auction theory and inventions of new auction formats”.


— (Source:


You Might Also Want To Read: International Women’s Month: Empowering Women Today, Tomorrow, and Everyday