Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco officially new House Representatives Speaker


After raking 186 votes, Lord Allan Velasco of Marinduque is now the official Speaker of the House.

Velasco and his allies were finally able to step foot inside the Batasang Pambansa’s plenary hall on Tuesday, October 13.

The lawmakers ousted Alan Peter Cayetano as Speaker of the House of Representatives in an unprecedented remote session and elected Velasco as their new leader.

Velasco raked a total of 186 lawmakers as a Speaker during the plenary proceedings, the same number of legislators who voted to elect him as Speaker the day before.

This vote – conducted publicly and inside the plenary hall – officially puts into the House records Velasco’s dramatic takeover as Speaker.

It would also put to rest doubts about the validity of the Marinduque congressman’s election to the post.

—(Source: Rappler)


You Might Also Want To Read: PRRD meets with Cayetano, Velasco to resolve speakership issue